Several collections can be seen in the museum: from forestry, woodworking, hunting, fishing and agricultural departments, to textiles, printing, traffic and electrical engineering. The attention of most visitors is drawn towards the water-driven elements -the flour mill, blacksmith’s workshop, fulling mill and veneer sawmill. Road vehicle fans won’t be disappointed either. They can admire the oldest surviving car from Slovenia or enjoy the sight of the limousines that once belonged to President Tito, Premier of former Yugoslavia.
Apart from the guided tour in Slovene, English, Italian and German languages through the museum collections, visitors can also attend several workshops and demonstrations, through which they can truly experience the technical spirit of the past.
Technical Museum of Slovenia
Short history of Bistra
1260-1782: A Carthusian monastery
The Carthusian monastery at Bistra, originally named “Vallis iocosa” (Happy valley), was built in the 13th century by the Spanheims. Bistra was one of four Carthusian monasteries within the Slovene territory, together with those at Žiče, Jurklošter and Pleterje.
Over time earthquakes and fires have changed the appearance of the monastery building.
In 1782 Joseph II dissolved the Carthusian order by decree.
1826-1945: A manor house
In 1826 the monastery was purchased by Franc Galle, a businessman and industrialist, who changed Bistra into a manor house.
After World War II the manor became “general public property” and for a short period of time in 1947 housed the Forestry Institute of Slovenia, and this period was the origin of the forestry, woodworking and hunting collections within the present-day museum.
From 1951 onwards: a museum
In 1951 the Technical Museum of Slovenia was established and in October 1953 it opened to the public.
4,50 / 2,40 EUR
The museum on google maps: