Palais Lobkowitz in Vienna offers an ideal setting for the extremely large and varied collection of the Theatre Museum, which includes 600 unique designs by Hans Makart, Oskar Kokoschka, Caspar Neher and Fritz Wotruba in the collection of costumes and props, and 1,000 model stages from the Venetian Baroque to the 20th century.
There are also around 700,000 theatre photographs and portraits on the performing arts from the mid-20th century onwards, as well as curiosities, such as a set of teeth from the actor and playwright Josef Kainz.
The library comprises more than 70,000 volumes from the fields of drama, musical theatre and dance as well as plays for radio, television and the screen. A special section of the Theatre Museum is especially designed for children.
Palais Lobkowitz is the first important urban palace to have been built in Vienna following the second siege by the Turks in 1683. The palace was built for the Imperial Oberststallmeister (Master of Horses) Count Philipp Sigmund von Dietrichstein, who had bought up a number of occupied lots at what was back then known as the Schweinemarkt (Pig Market) in 1687. Following a planning phase that lasted several years and even included a bona fide architects’ competition, Imperial Court Engineer Giovanni Pietro Tencala was charged with its construction. In 1745, after having repeatedly changed hands, the palace passed into the ownership of the Lobkowitz family, who were to own it from then until the 1970s. The place experience a period of particularly intense artistic activity under Franz Joseph Maximilian von Lobkowitz, whose enthusiasm for music and theatre was of an exceptional nature. He employed his own band of musicians, staged concerts and performances of musical works for the stage, and he was an admirer and patron of Ludwig van Beethoven, who was a frequent guest and performer here. Around the middle of the 19thcentury, the Lobkowitz family moved their main residence back to their hereditary castle in Raudnitz (today’s Roudnice) in northern Bohemia and began renting out their Viennese palace. From 1869 to 1909, the French Embassy was located here, and from 1919 to 1938 it was the location of the Czechoslovak diplomatic mission. In 1939, the building was rededicated as the “Haus der Mode” (the House of Fashion). After suffering moderately severe damage during the Second World War, the building was rented, renovated and newly furnished by the French occupational forces in 1946, and was to house the French Cultural Institute from 1947 to 1979. Thereafter the palace passed into the ownership of the Republic of Austria. It was given a thorough renovation and subjected to alterations with an eye to its future use by the Theatre Collection of the Austrian National Library and the Austrian Theatre Museum. Over the course of the year 1991, the former Theatre Collection-which had been removed from the organisation of the Austrian National Library in 1991-was transferred to the 300-year-old baroque palace. On 26 October 1991, the Austrian Theatre Museum celebrated its grand opening at Palais Lobkowitz.
8,00 / 6,00 EUR
The museum on google maps: