Adam Mickiewicz Museum in Śmiełów


in short

A visit to the Palace is a hands-on experience of venues related to the poet Adam Mickiewicz and offers a unique contact with his memorabilia.
Muzeum im. Adama Mickiewicza w Śmiełowie
© Archiwum MNP
Logo: Adam Mickiewicz Museum in Śmiełów

Adam Mickiewicz Museum in Śmiełów

in detail

The great Polish Romantic bard visited Śmiełów at the invitation of Hieronim Gorzeński (the then owner of the Palace) in August 1831. The poet was trying to cross the border to the Polish Kingdom, at that time in the midst of an insurgence. The stay in Wielkopolska was an important moment of Mickiewicz’s biography as a poet ("Pan Tadeusz").

The ground floor of the Palace features and exhibit dedicated to Mickiewicz. Here we can see manuscripts, personal artefacts, and first editions of his works.
The exhibit on the first floor, composed of Biedermeier furniture and paintings made from the 17th till the 19th c., recreates an air of a mansion of landed gentry.

The palace windows overlook the hills of Szwajcaria Żerkowska. The adjacent park is full of truly romantic nooks, such as Zosia’s herbal garden (depicted in "Pan Tadeusz"). The “Mickiewicz oak” is commemorated here with a “tree monument” – a bench with the poet’s maxim spoken in this place.

The Museum is located in a Classicist palace of the late 18th c., a work by architect S. Zawadzki.
Adam Mickiewicz Museum in Smielow
The palace, erected at the end of the 18th century as the seat of Andrzej Gorzenski, a Poznan magistrate, was built by Stanislaw Zawadzki and is a remarkable example of Polish architecture of the Classicist period.

Shaped like a horseshoe, the building has a jutting colonnade portico, so-called porch, and very characteristic annexes with slanting roofs, patterned on Chinese pagodas.
Ca. 1880 Franciszek and Antoni Smuglewicz decorated the interior with murals, while stucco decorations were made by Michal Ceptowski. Apart from the palace, Zawadzki designed also the outbuildings; the granary and the stable have been preserved until today.
The complex is surrounded by a landscape park offering a magnificent view of the surroundings; the park, just like the palace, assumed its present form at the close of the 18th century. The first owner of Smielow, Andrzej Gorzenski, was a free mason and as a result we can encounter numerous elements indicating his membership in a Masonic lodge, e.g. a free masonry altar in the staircase.
10 / 7 PLN
The museum on google maps:


Visitor entrance

Adam Mickiewicz Museum in Smielow
63-210 Żerków
63-210 Śmiełów
view on a map

Opening Times

10:00 - 18:00
10:00 - 16:00
10:00 - 16:00
10:00 - 16:00
10:00 - 16:00
10:00 - 16:00
Wednesday from 16 June do 31 August admission free / środa od 16 czerwca do 31 sierpnia wstęp bezpłatny

Saturday from 01 September do 15 June admission free / sobota od 01 września do 15 czerwca wstęp bezpłatny

Mon - closed
Tue - Fri 9:00 - 16:00 (10:00 - 16:00, from 1st of May to 31st of August)
Sat 10:00 - 16:00
Sun 10:00 - 16:00 (10:00 - 18:00, from 1st of May to 31st of August)

pn - nieczynne
wt - pt 9:00 - 16:00 (10:00 - 16:00, od 1 maja do 31 sierpnia włącznie)
sb 10:00 - 16:00
nd 10:00 - 16:00 (10:00 - 18:00, od 1 maja do 31 sierpnia włącznie)

Related umbrella organisation

The National Museum in Poznan - The exhibition portal for Europe