The museum’s name is associated to the Archbishop D. Diogo de Sousa (1505-1532), who undertook important measures to improve town planning in Braga, as well as estimable efforts to unite the scattered archaeological findings of the city.
The Museum was projected to be built in Braga’s most significant and best preserved archaeological zones. The progressive integration and importance given to the nuclei of archaeological ruins in the city centre enabled the creation of a tour route with links to the museum.
The permanent exhibition has been arranged in four large nuclei.
The first nucleus chronologically comprehends the periods between the Palaeolithic and the Iron Age. From a geographic viewpoint, these works derive from the Minho region.
The collections in the following three halls derive from Bracara Augusta and its surrounding territory.
Archaeological vestiges bearing witness to the city’s integration by the Empire can be observed in the second room. Besides objects imported from other relatively distant regions, visitors can observe how contact with technical innovations influenced the local development of activities linked to the production of ceramics, metal and glass objects. These activities subsequently contributed towards the growth of commerce and financed the city’s great architectural transformations.
Visitors can come into contact with information related to excavation methods and the study of the urban archaeological project, as well as collections associated to domestic space in the third room.
Besides a set of milestones from different roads, visitors can also observe the estate of necropolises located next to these roads. Findings linked to the religiousness of the Roman and Early Christian Period close the permanent exhibition.
The underground floor of the service sector preserves the vestiges of a home and an “in situ” mosaic from the Roman Era.
The garden, the museum shop and the cafeteria are admission free during the museum opening hours.
Museum of Archaeology D. Diogo de Sousa
Architects Carlos Guimarães and Luís Soares Carneiro developed the project.
The technical sector comprises a laboratory where museum’s collections are restored, as well as those from other museums and regional collections.
The areas open to the general public cover the permanent and temporary exhibition halls, the auditorium, the library specialised in the field of Archaeology and the museum’s education service that organises guided tours for groups and other activities.
The museum on google maps: