The National History Museum of Latvia was founded in 1869 as the Museum of the Riga Latvian Society, and has occupied its former home in Riga Castle from 1920 till 2014. It became a public museum in 1924, and is the major national repository, having the largest museum collection of material relating to the Latvian people. Currently, its collections contain almost a million artefacts. These include finds from archaeological excavations, hoards of jewellery and coins, folk costumes, traditional tools, folk art, everyday utensils, photographs, documents, maps, engravings, paintings and other materials relating to Latvian history.
The collections are held in the Archaeology, Ethnography, Numismatics, History, and Restoration Departments.
January 2010 Latvian Culture Museum Dauderi joined to the National History Museum of Latvia. Museum's building was built in 1897 as "Waldschlossen" (at present - "Aldaris") family mansion of the owner Adolf fon Binger. It is surrounded with the park created in the beggining of the 20th century by Georgs F. F. Kūfalts.
January 2015 the Popular Front Museum joined to the National History Museum of Latvia. It is one of the repositories of the Latvian contemporary history's testimonies. In the museums collections there are unique evidences (objects, documents), which tell about the Latvian people's struggle for freedom, about the Third Awakening.
House of Dauderi
Latvijas Nacionālais vēstures muzejs
In 1880, Adolf von Bingner became the owner of the brewery Waldschlosschen (currently Aldaris). He was a certified engineer – a chemist. Bingner not only modernized the brewery but also built a family house close to it. In 1897, the construction of the family house Villa fon Büngner was finished. The author of the project was Fricis Zeiberlihs (Seiberlich), a civil engineer who was also the author of the brewery complex, thus both the summer house and the factory made up a unified ensemble. The construction was done by R. Hoisermans (Häusermann) company. Already in that time it was recognized as one of the most beautiful private houses in Riga.
On the first floor were the representation rooms, a music room and a dining-hall. On the second floor were private rooms. The house has a spacious attic as well as terraces, balcony and arcades. In 1898, a park (nowadays known as Aldaris park) around the Bingner summer house was designed by the remarkable German landscape architect and the director of Riga city gardens Georg Friedrich Ferdinand Kuphaldt. The territory of the Bingner summer house park is 2.2 ha big and according to the relief it was divided into two parts: the upper part is made in regular shapes, the lower part – in landscape style with a pool, fountain, artificial castle ruins and a rotunda.
In 1936 a stock company Latvijas Kredītbanka took over Livonija, Tanheizer, Iļģuciems as well a Waldschlosschen breweries and merging them into one brewery/ stock company Aldaris. In 1937, the former President of Latvia Kārlis Ulmanis celebrated his 60th birthday. The stock company Latvijas Kredītbanka granted him Dauderi villa as his summer house. Prior to that the house was renovated; various improvements were made, and the house acquired some patriotic characteristics in its interior design e.g. furniture made according to the sketches of Ansis Cīrulis has been made. The President had his office in this house. In the park next to the pool, a pool house was built, near it – a tennis court and in the artificial castle ruins was built a room in Latvian style.
ENTRANCE IN MUSEUM:
adults – 3,00 EUR
students, seniors – 1,50 EUR
pupils – 0,75 EUR
Family ticket (1-2 adults un 1-2 children) – 4,00 EUR
Popular Front Museum
adults – 3.00 EUR
students, senior – 1,50 EUR
children – 0,75EUR
Family ticket (1-2 adults and 1-2 children) – 4.00 EUR
Latvian – 8.00 EUR
English and Russian – 15.00 EUR
The Popular Front Museum (PFM) is one of the repositories of the Latvian contemporary history’s testimonies. In the museum’s collection there are unique evidences (objects, documents), which tell about the Latvian people’s struggle for freedom, about the Third Awakening. Visitors can get acquainted with the documents, photographs, news-reels that depict the events of the Awakening times.
The museum on google maps: