Archaeological Museum “Paolo Giovio”

 

in short

The Archaeological Museum “Paolo Giovio” is divided into two main sections: one is the Prehistoric and Protohistoric sections, the second one is the Roman Section. There is another area showing the collections of the XVIII century and a branch with lapidary inscriptions.
Elmo e armi in bronzo rinvenute nel ripostiglio di Ello-Oggiono (LC)/Bronze helmet and weapons found in the Ello-Oggiono closet
© Musei Civici Como
Logo: Archaeological Museum “Paolo Giovio”

Archaeological Museum “Paolo Giovio”

in detail

The Archaelogical Museum "Paolo Giovio" was born in 1897, taking place in an ancient palace of the XVII century.
The exhibition starts with the archaeological remains found in the Como area, displayed in chronological order to illustrate the evolutionary process leading to the appearance of Mankind on Earth. Archaeological finds exposed in this sections make reference to a wide range of eras:
- Palaeolithic Age;
- Neolithic Age;
- Bronze Age;
- Iron Age.
The exhibition is set up by funeral outfits found nearby Como, focusing on the Golasecca Culture, whose findings represent the most important part of the Prehistoric and Proto-historic Department.
The other main section of the Museum is dedicated to Roman time: it presents the ”Novum Comum” created by Caesar and illustrates the testimonies of everyday life of the time.  The exhibition is organized following a thematic principle: one side shows some evidences related to the city, the other one introduces the aspects of roman’s daily life (religion, business, feeding,  aesthetics…) through the objects found.
The permanent exposure also houses collections of Egyptian antiquities, gems, coins, Greek vases and bronze Roman statuettes. Furthermore, a reconstruction of the old prehistoric exhibition is displayed in one of the rooms.

euromuse.net - Das Ausstellungsportal für Europa